Dealer DemoDealer Login
Dealer Demo

    Sell My Car FAQ

    Have questions about the CarOffer platform? We’ve got answers.

    Q: Do you currently support a trade in option?

    A: We do not currently support combining your offer with the purchase of a new vehicle in a single transaction.

    Q: How can I sell my car?

    A: When selling a vehicle, you have a few convenient options: getting the best offer, selling privately on CarGurus, or bringing it to a car dealership. Getting an offer on CarGurus is a fast and convenient way to get a great value for your vehicle from the comfort of your home. Selling privately will give you the ability to connect with many interested buyers and the potential to make more. Trading in at a dealership is an option to sell your car for cash, though you could be selling it for less than what your car is worth.

    Q: How long is my offer valid for?

    A: Your offer will be valid for 7 days or after driving 250 additional miles (whichever comes first).

    Q: How should I contact you if I have any question?

    A: Use the Help beacon on the bottom right of your screen or contact

    Q: I don’t see the correct trim for my vehicle.

    A: If you can’t find the correct trim for your vehicle, please reach out to customer support at

    Q: My VIN wasn't recognized. How can you help?

    A: If you have an issue when uploading your vehicle identification number, or VIN, please reach out to customer support at

    Q: What happens if I don't get an instant offer?

    A: Unfortunately, not all vehicles are eligible to receive offers. This is often due to the vehicle's age, aftermarket customizations, or other factors. If your vehicle is not eligible for an offer, you can always list it privately on CarGurus.

    Q: Which states currently support instant offers?

    A: Offers are currently supported in the following states:

    • Arkansas
    • Connecticut
    • D.C.
    • Deleware 
    • Florida 
    • Georgia
    • Illinois
    • Indiana
    • Iowa
    • Louisiana 
    • Maryland
    • Massachusetts
    • Michigan
    • Minnesota
    • Missouri
    • Nebraska 
    • New Jersey
    • New York
    • Pennsylvania
    • Rhode Island
    • Tennessee
    • Texas
    • Virginia